Upgrades to my 1999 Yamaha Mountain Max 700

Hello to all the slednecks out there.  Since I’ve arrived in Jeddah, I have been dwelling over which new sled to buy.  I have decided for the time being, I am going to hold off and allow myself more time to decide.  During this wait, I will continue the upgrades to my 1999 Yamaha Mountain Max 700.  This will soon become my backup sled.  I am not sure when I will order the new parts.  Everything is based on my upcoming vacation.

For my front suspension, I have decided to stick with after market parts from Mountain Performance Inc.  Polished Aluminum trailing arms will lighten my sled 4 pounds, along with giving the snowmobile a great custom look.  Complimenting these trailing arms will be new aluminum radius rods, billet spindles, and billet aluminum steering arms.  The new suspension will lighten the sled by a total of about 9 pounds.

One thing I wish I would have done long ago is replace my stock reeds with V-Force Delta 3 reeds.  With this addition, greater throttle response, horsepower, and fuel economy are all increased.  The reed spacers I already have now help, but both together will be great asset.

I also have decided to install a new stainless brake rotor, with an aluminum hub to lower the rotating weight.  At this time, I have not decided with manufacturer’s parts I will purchase.  I should see approximately 2 pounds in weight reduction.  Since, its rotating weight, weight reduction will feel much higher.

My Boss seat is another subject entirely.  Three years in thinking, and I still couldn’t decide which style I wanted to purchase.  In the end, I have decided to stick with a stock look in a Boss Seat.  I have pondered on this decision for way too long!  My Boss Seat is now on order.

After I purchase everything, I will continue to think about which manufacturer my new sled will be.  Basically, I am torn between a Ski-Doo Summit X 800 with a 151 inch long track, and a Yamaha Apex Mountain SE.  I have to continue pondering.  Let me know which of the two sleds you like more.  Everyone enjoy the upcoming season!

This entry was posted in Sled reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

