Departing for Russia

I am back from Russia, and the trip went great!  I have so much I could talk about so, I will break it down and talk about certain parts of my vacation.  Today, I will start from the beginning in Jeddah.

My flight to Volgograd first started in Jeddah heading for Frankfurt, Germany.  I went through the international terminal, and this was an absolute nightmare.  Hajj pilgrims are still departing, and the airport was absolutely packed.  After waiting in the check-in line for 3 hours, I was pointed to and sped through to the front for check-in.  I am so grateful the Lufthansa employee sped me through.  Lufthansa Airlines is such a great airline.  I don’t know how much longer I would have been waiting in line.  I was informed by the pilot after boarding that the airport terminal was closed due to max capacity.

While waiting for my flight, I met a young Muslim couple from Chicago on their way home, and I sat and talked with them for a bit.  They were incredibly nice and I wish I could have talked with them more.  It’s great to meet people during your travels.

The flight with the Hajj pilgrims to Frankfurt was not fun either.  80-90% of the people onboard were sick.  Fortunately, the person I was sat beside was very nice, and I learned a bit about his life.  It’s a small world.  I wish I could talk about it, but for now, I will keep it to myself.  I was so happy to get into Frankfurt to head for my connecting flight.  Note to self; never travel within 2 months of Hajj.

This entry was posted in Traveling with Mike. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment