Aeroflot Airlines, Segment 3

The third and final flight was with Aeroflot Airlines from Moscow to Volgograd.  After being dropped off at Sheremetyevo 1, I found that I had 2 hours to kill before checking in.  I went to the restaurant and ordered my first meal outside of Saudi Arabia.  Salmon and potatoes were my choice, and it was absolutely delicious!

We took off from Moscow heading for Volgograd, and the flight was very smooth.  Since I ate at the airport, I chose not to have the meal on board, so I can’t tell you what the food tasted like.  I did have to relieve my bladder and after entering the restroom, I found the toilet seat on the aircraft to be made of plywood.  That was weird.  I don’t want to know what the rest of the aircraft was made of, ha ha.

Landing in Volgograd was an adventure.  The pilot made a great approach and after crossing the thresh hold he blew the landing by floating over half the runway.  Once the aircraft finally touched down, the pilot layed on the brakes so hard, I thought the tires were going to blow from heat build up, or go off the end of the runway.  Luggage and other miscellaneous items tumbled down the isle toward the front of the aircraft.  What a wild landing!

We departed the aircraft and headed to the terminal.  We were dropped off in front of a gate and I found Natasha and her father immediately.  Claiming baggage in Volgograd was really strange.  They bring the bags on a trailer being towed by a farming tractor, where everyone dives into a room where you grab your bag off the trailer and head out.  As you leave, someone checks your tag to make sure you have the correct bag.  After retrieving my baggage, Natasha, her father and I headed for the taxi waiting for us.

This entry was posted in Traveling with Mike. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aeroflot Airlines, Segment 3

  1. Toby says:

    A tiolet set made of wood and a floating landing…wonder what dad would have to say about that…hahhahaha…Great accounts Mike and I am loving the pictures…you are now "Mr. International"

  2. Toby says:

    PS…Google is really starting to like you…your Space is being indexed every 24hrs 🙂 thought you might like to know.

Leave a comment