Waking Up In Volzhsky

I will not be talking about my whole trip, but certain aspects, I will talk about starting from day 1.  This day was a busy day and we never stopped moving till late in the evening.  For this reason, my blog for this day will be broken up by subject so there isn’t one huge blog.

The first day in Volzhsky was superb.  Natasha had a couple things to do in the morning, and was already gone by the time I woke up.  Expecting her between 12 and 1pm, her father and I headed out about 10:00 for the market since I needed to purchase warmer clothing.  The market reminded me of the Saturday Market in downtown Portland, or downtown Anchorage.  Vendors with booths selling anything you would ever need.  I purchased all the clothing I needed except for a jacket.  I didn’t really like the selection I saw.  The jacket I brought was warm enough, so I wasn’t really worried about this aspect.

Next, we headed across the street to the food market, which was set up much like Pike Place Market in downtown Seattle, but much smaller.  The first thing I planned on buying was ham and bacon.  Pork is not allowed in Saudi Arabia, so this topped my list.  After buying all the food I would need for the apartment, we headed back to Natasha’s house.  Natasha was already back and after eating lunch, we headed out to the Motherland.

 

This entry was posted in Traveling with Mike. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment